Volunteer for the New Year 2014

With a little editing this post remains as poignant as it was in 2012. Adopt, foster, volunteer, donate ……..

PhoebeIt is that time of year again, the week between Christmas and the New Year just after the New Year. Resolutions to lose weight, organize my closet and just be an all around better person all come pouring over me. If you are a little short on ideas this year, here is one for your list, volunteer. I have been volunteering just over a year now for over three years at my local SPCA, the Roanoke Valley SPCA. I can tell you without any hesitation that it is one of the best things I can do with my time. It is the one thing that I look forward to each and every week without fail. During the torrential rains, blazing heat, spring pollen, and a few perfectly nice days there are always animals waiting to have their glamour shots broadcast to the world. Getting that perfect picture that will connect future families with their new pet is so important to me. That is the big picture benefit of my time at the shelter and in front of the computer.

While I am a perfectly sane person, I do think the animals show their appreciation for the attention and time during their photo sessions. Some are a little more appreciative than others but they do show it. Doggie kisses and kitty purrs are all part of the payment. The handlers get most of the payments but I can see just how happy the animals are for the attention and time outside.

But wait there’s more! Through my volunteerism, I have met a whole new set of people who work at the shelter both as employees and volunteers. Since we are all animal lovers it is like joining a club with like-minded people. It gives you a connection where there once was none. “I got a hat on a cat today” or perhaps “Zoe licked my toes this morning” I can easily say to any of these people statements that would otherwise be interpreted to mean I am a crazy cat lady or nutty dog woman. It is nice to be understood and accepted.

So if you are looking to do some good in the world, Volunteer at your local animal shelter. Whatever your talent: photography, seamstress, accounting, graphic design, dog walker, kitty cuddler, or just have a little too much time or money on your hands, give it freely and you will be rewarded for your gift in so many ways. Do it today!

To learn about the volunteer opportunities for all ….. read more.

Leave a Reply

